Kian Pearson’s Cycle Ride

In July last year Kian Pearson a local boy from Alfreton and a student at David Nieper Academy, then aged 12 years of age, cycled from John O’Groats to Lands End setting a record  being the youngest person to complete the journey in 14 days at the same time raising in the region of £8000. by way of sponsorship for the Charity Dementia UK.

The club considered that Kian’s effort and commitment should be recognised and nominated him for the RIBI National Rotary Young Citizen of the year Award.

On the 30th April the President and 3 club members attended an assembly at David Nieper Academy and presented Kian with a framed nomination certificate awarded to him by RIBI together with a trophy from the members of Alfreton Rotary Club.  


Club Meeting Monday 29th April 2019

We presented a cheque for £200. to Richard Street the local representative of the Chernobyl Children’s Life Line Charity. 

The Charity is again this year hosting a group of children from Belarus who are suffering from the after affects of the nuclear fallout from the Chernobyl disaster.

During their stay in East Derbyshire not only will the children be given a holiday to remember but receive a medical assessment and where necessary treatment, all in an effort to rebuild their much needed depleted immune systems and give them hope and the opportunity of improved health.   

Club Visit to The National Holocaust Centre and Museum

On the 18th March 8 club members and guests visited The National Holocaust Centre and Museum at Laxton, near Newark. It is a very peaceful and well tended area of gardens, (the roses will be magnificent in a few weeks time) with water features and areas set aside for meditation.

The idea of visiting this place is to some, one with which they will not countenance, but the fact is that it is beautiful place which portrays the horrors of this period in a factual, but not sensational, manner and leaves you thoughtful rather than horrified.

After an introductory film and a visit to some of the exhibitions we entered the theatre and, along with a room of full of children, heard of the experiences of a Dutch Jew who grew up in the war years (he was only 6 by the end of the war). After this we had little time to wander round the exhibits, which are very interactive and cleverly laid out.

It was agreed by all a very interesting day and, certainly some  will return as there was not enough time to see everything and maybe the roses will be in bloom.

Award for Colin

Colin Fox received a great surprise after giving a talk on the problems of Alzheimers to West Ashfield Rotary Club last week.

For his services to the District on the ‘membership committee’ Colin received a sapphire pin in recognition of all of his hard work.

Colin on the right, received his ‘pin’ from Michael Longdon, President of West Ashfield and Past District Governor.

Eco Greenhouse for Woodbridge School

Members of the Rotary Club of Alfreton, Staff of Woodbridge School and members of the Parent Teachers Association line up in front of the completed Eco Greenhouse that has been donated by the Rotary Club and built with help from the schools PTA.

Some of the team assembling the bottles that form the roof and walls.

Alright who knows which bit goes where!

Grub up. The team share a meal with pupils.

Club Meeting 24th September 2018

Our weekly lunch time meeting was attended by seven invited guests. After lunch Past District Governor Gordon McGlone gave an informative and interesting presentation explaining the work of Rotary both at home and abroad pointing out the friendships that are made with other Rotarians world wide and the responsibilities and benefits of being a Rotarian. The Talk was well received by all those present.

Before Gordons talk President Mandy and Immediate Past President Dennis presented a cheque for £250. to Debbie Moore from Young Carers Derbyshire. Being part of last years Santa collection. We have now donated the full amount collected £2500 to ten local charities.


Celebrating our 80th Anniversary

On Monday the 3rd of September we celebrated our 80th Charter Anniversary at Riddings Community Centre. The members were joined  by Cheryle Berry the District Governor and fellow Rotarians from our mother and daughter clubs together with other Rotarians from within the District, Mary Kerry the Mayor of Alfreton and other guests.

President Mandy Oldknow welcoming District Governor Cheryle Berry and Alfreton Mayor Mary Kerry

Following an excellent meal and speeches we were entertained by the    ‘Gold Leaf Duo’.

All present went home with an anniversary cake kindly supplied by Mandy our President.  The club now looks forward to our next 80 years serving the communities both at home and abroad.

Party in the Park

On Sunday the 2nd of September we were present at the our local ‘Party in the Park’ demonstrating an Aquabox filtration pump and engaging with the public explaining how Rotary supports local, national and international projects and charities.

Kian completes his JOGLE Bike Ride

Kian congratulations from the members of Alfreton Rotary Club you set yourself a big challenge and you achieved it.

At the age of 12 years you have cycled from John O’Groats to Lands End in 14 days making you the youngest person to do it in less than 20 days. All in aid of the charity Dementia UK.

Well Done.

See our previous post of the 27th May 2018.  And